top of page

Earth Day Program: Planet or Plastic!

Register for MSJC's Earth Day Program: Planet or Plastic! Wednesday, April 24, 2024, between 8:00 pm and 9:15 pm EST.


What: All are welcome to join MSJC's Integral Ecology Team for 75 minutes of learning and dialogue on the 2024 World Earth Day theme, Planet vs. Plastics. The event will include prayer, presentations, and sharing, using resources from the Catholic Climate Covenant and others to inspire actions to reduce plastics.


The presenters are:


  • Bro. Steve O'Neil SM (Cupertino, CA Marianist Community): Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation Coordinator for the US Province of Marianist Brothers

  • Susan Vogt (Covington, KY & Marianist Visitation State Community): environmental speaker and writer. See her blog: Living Lightly


When: Wednesday, April 24, starting at 8 pm ET | 7 pm CT | 6 pm MT | 5 pm PT | 2 pm HT.


This event is sponsored by the Integral Ecology Team of the Marianist Social Justice Collaborative (MSJC) and Marianist Environmental Education Center (MEEC).


To Register, click here.


Some Resources for the program:

Global Earth Day's 2024 theme is Planet vs Plastics, with a commitment to a 60% reduction in ALL plastics by 2040, growing awareness of health risks, phasing out all single-use plastics, and demanding an end to fast fashion. Governments and NGOs worldwide will gather in Ottawa to negotiate the UN Global Plastic Treaty this Earth Day, April 22, 2024.


Babies vs. Plastics, the first of five reports on the serious health risks of plastics, overviews recent research on the impacts of microplastics on the health of young babies and children.


Catholic Climate Covenant Program: Healing Our Throwaway Culture: A Focus on Plastics

Watch Catholic Climate Covenant's Healing Our Throwaway Culture: A Focus on Plastics video, click here.

Click the following links to download: Catholic Climate Covenant's




Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page